Download Our App

Follow us

Home » Dance » Nalanda Nrityotsav starts Friday12 January

Nalanda Nrityotsav starts Friday12 January

Vinay Tiwari

The much awaited festival for young classical dancers, organised by Nalanda Dance Research Centre and Nalanda Nrityakala Mahavidyalaya commences on Friday 12 January at Nalanda’s Kanaka Sabha in Juhu. The four days festival will feature varied classical dance styles and is considered one the finest platforms to encourage young talent in the field of classical dance.

Founder director of Nalanda, Dr Kanak Rele started this festival with the intention of encouraging young talent and also to promote and propagate classical dances towards a larger section of the society , as she felt that the young dancers are the torch bearers of the future society.

Dr Uma Rele, principal and Director of Nalanda said “We receive lot of entries for the festival and at times it becomes difficult to eliminate, in order to encourage more performers, for the first time we have selected 21 dancers to perform in this festival. The highlight of the festival will be the presentation of Santavani as a tribute to Dr Kanak Rele”.

Sunday 14th January will be the presentation of Nalanda’s Bharata Muni samman and Nalanda’s Nartana Puraskar, the winners of Nalanda Nartana Puraskar are Dr Jayashree Rajagopalan, Bharata Nritya exponent, Keka Sinha, Kathak exponent, Prakruti Bhaskar, Bharata natyam exponent, Sandip Soparrkar,choreogrographer and columnist and Vikram Kumar Bathina of The Dance India magazine.
The dancers of the festival are Rajini Kallur, Rito Pratim , Nikhita S, Sourav Mohanty, Dimpee B, Teresa C, Srinivasan, Santanu Roy ,Sanjeev Jena, Gayatri S, Subhodip S , Shobhit Ramesh, Medha T. Aparna Sastry, Anusha G, Tejashree M, Avijit Kundu, Aishwarya R , Shubham Ojha, Vinay Tiwari and Vaidehi Gawande. Don not miss this young dancers extravaganza.

Leave a Comment

7k network
error: Content is protected !!